Return to Headlines

11-13-19 — Mid November 2019 Awards

Nov. 13, 2019

Middle School Math Contest Winners Named

The fall Olathe Middle School Math Competition took place in early November and crowned champions in the grade level divisions.

Frontier Trail Middle School won first place in the sixth-grade division. Team members Ben Cobb, Ashwin Dharmalingam and Trey Shockley were coached by Julie Miller.

Oregon Trail Middle School won first place in the seventh-grade division. Team members Jonathan Gantos, Hayden Renoux, Aidric Smith and Jason Yan were coached by Kendal Berrey.

The eighth-grade division was a tie between the California Trail Middle School and Prairie Trail Middle School teams. California Trail team members Andrew Dai, Anshika Kapoor, Ricky Li and Tanmay Patil were coached by Mary Roswurm. Prairie Trail team members Emily Messenger, Ella Novion and Blake Pennel were coached by Nathan Harkins and David Shoemaker.

Olathe West Boys Soccer Wins State Title

The Olathe West High School boys soccer team earned the Kansas 6A state title in Topeka, Kansas.

“Coach Trumpp and his staff have worked very hard, they played an incredibly tough schedule, and had our team prepared all year,” Olathe West Principal Jay Novacek said. “We are proud that our boys soccer team won the first team state championship in school history. We look forward to hanging our first banner in the gym.”

Olathe Educator Nominated for National Award

Prairie Trail Middle School Spanish teacher Kelly Ruiz has been nominated for the 2019-20 LifeChanger of the Year award. This national honor, sponsored by National Life Group, recognizes and awards the very best K-12 educators and school district employers across the United States who are making a difference in the lives of students by exemplifying excellence, positive influence and leadership.

“Mrs. Ruiz injects fun into her room with hands-on activities, music and dancing, and always greets her students with a smile,” Prairie Trail Principal Rick Sola said. “We’re glad to have her at Prairie Trail.”

Winners are chosen by a selection committee and grand prize finalists will be honored at a national awards ceremony in April 2020.