R.E.A. Officers and Committees

  • Members of the Olathe Public Schools Retired Employees Association executive board say, "We're excited about this organization because it provides the opportunity to keep in touch with former colleagues, to make new friends through social activities, and to continue to serve the students of this district and the community of Olathe." OPS/REA participants include classified and certified members who were teachers, paraeducators, administrators, secretaries, and held many other positions in the Olathe Public Schools before retiring. They come from our high schools, middle schools, elementary schools and support buildings.

    Our Mission

    To enrich life by providing resources for our members and the educational community. 

    Our Vision Statement

    To support, share information and socialize with the Olathe Public Schools and retired employees.

    Officers, Committee Contacts

    photo of REA officers The 2019-20 board includes President Roger Ramseyer, Treasurer Gary Ulmer, Secretary Kathy Falen, President-Elect Earl Martin, At Large David Brewer, Phyllis Freeman, Wendy Scholten, Diana Stevens and Connie Viebrock; Committee Representatives Ernie Claudel, Mary Cochran, Doug Cox, Raleen Cox, Don Everhart, Diane Gossage, Terri Jarboe, Tom Kearney, Debbie Ramirez Koch, Texanna Ollenberger, Judy Rapp, Christina Robson, Stephanie Royer and Marsha Stoker; District Personnel Heather Schoonover and Amanda York.

    REA 2019-20 officers:

    • President — Roger Ramseyer
    • President-elect — Earl Martin
    • Secretary — Kathy Falen
    • Treasurer — Gary Ulmer
    • Members-at-large — David Brewer, Phyllis Freeman, Wendy Scholten, Diana Stevens and Connie Viebrock
    • Member emeritus — Mary Cochran

    REA Committees:

    • Care and Concern — Diana Stevens
      • Reach out to members during times of crisis and times of celebration
    • Community Organizations — Tom Kearney
    • District Liaison — Heather Schoonover
    • Fundraising — Diane Gossage, Terri Jarboe and Marsha Stoker
      • Develop plans for raising funds for the organization and for scholarships on behalf of ODS-REA
    • Legislative / Benefits — Ernie Claudel
      • Keep members informed about legislative and state retirement issues that impact retired school district employees and collaborate with school district administrators to keep members informed about benefits available to retirees
    • Media Specialist (Facebook/photographer) — Tom Kearney
    • Membership — Judy Rapp and Debbie Ramirez Koch
      • Organize annual membership drives
    • Olathe Public Schools Foundation — Earl Martin
    • Publicity/Communications — Amanda York
      • Develop publications/communications
    • Scholarships — Raleen Cox and Stephanie Royer
      • Get information to school counselors and Future Teacher Organizations about the REA scholarship; help judge applications and choose the winner from each school
    • Social — Diane Gossage and Texanna Ollenberger
      • Plan programs and activities of interest to retirees
    • Trips / Outings — Don Everhart
    • Volunteerism — Doug Cox
      • Notify members of ways they can volunteer in schools and community; collect and report volunteer hours to appropriate agencies