Eligibility and Applying for Head Start

  • Olathe Head Start is a federally funded, comprehensive preschool program for low-income families. Children must be 3 years old on or before Aug. 31 of the school year you are applying.  

    Families must meet Federal Income Guidelines and live with in the following school district areas:

    • Olathe
    • Blue Valley
    • Gardner/Edgerton
    • Spring Hill (must live on the Johnson County side)
    • Desoto

    Families that are receiving TANF, SSI or SNAP benefits also qualify as well as families that are in transition between homes and children who are in foster placement.

    The following form is NOT an application but an inquiry to let us know that you are interested in applying for Head Start.  A staff member will contact you to discuss qualifying for the program.  Thank you for considering Head Start as your child's preschool option.