Return to Headlines

9-20-21 — 20 Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Sept. 20, 2021 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 20 National Merit Semifinalists.

The semifinalists from the district are:

  • Olathe East: Madeline King and Cristina Schmidt
  • Olathe North: Grant Henrichs, Logan Honors, Akerth Jain, Darya Mohammadzadeh, Abigail Peters, Arshdeep Singh and Gauri Yadav
  • Olathe Northwest: Logan Connor, Matthew Genchev, Liam Moore, Ava Pal, Connor Schroeder and Kaelyn Wellman
  • Olathe South: Ethan Coleman and Ellie Edwards
  • Olathe West: Samuel Kelemen, Evelyn May and Emily Yan

From the approximate 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2022. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be provided by about 220 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,100 college-sponsored merit scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.