Return to Headlines

2-11-21 — Mid-February 2021 Awards

Feb. 11, 2021

Students Elected As State Thespian Officers

Two Olathe students were elected as Kansas Thespians State Officers. Olathe East High School sophomore Ellie Eisele was elected to vice chair and Olathe North High School junior Chase Ellis was elected at-large.

This is the fourth consecutive year that an Olathe high school has been represented with a student on the Kansas State Thespian Officer Board.

East Theatre Director Earns State Honor

photo of Eddie Shafer Olathe East High School Threatre Director Eddie Shafer was named winner of the Heart of the Arts award from the Kansas State High School Activities Association.

“Eddie Shafer is truly a gift to the entire Olathe community and is the best in the business,” Olathe East Principal Kerry Lane said. “Not only are East’s productions the best high school theatre has to offer, his students adore him, push themselves to meet his standard of excellence and many consider him as the educator who has made the largest impact in their lives. He was passionate going into this unique school year that he continue to provide a space for our students to experience theatre and has problem-solved ways to guarantee this happens.”

Shafer will be considered for national recognition by the National Federation of State High School Associations.

(Photo of Eddie Shafer)

Students Receive Awards For Aspiration In Computing

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) will recognize two Olathe students for their accomplishments and aspirations in computing and technology at an upcoming virtual award showcase.

Carlie Scheer, sophomore at Olathe Northwest High School, and Alana Schmalzried-Lugo, sophomore at Olathe Northwest, were named winners of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing for the Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate.