Return to Headlines

3-22-23 — 16 Olathe Seniors Named National Merit Finalists

March 22, 2023 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of approximately 15,000 finalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 16 seniors named National Merit Finalists.

The finalists from the district are:

  • Olathe East High School: Easton Logback, Nathan Zhang
  • Olathe North High School: Ethan Bui, Matthew Coffman, Isobel Li, Eve Loehrer, Meirah Paul, Jackson Stephens and Joseph Wiltanger
  • Olathe Northwest High School: William Bergman, Alana Schmalzried-Lugo, Grant Shanklin, Samuel Swails, Amy Van Oosbree and Hope Wagner
  • Olathe West High School: Carson Guenthner

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2023. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 950 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be provided by about 180 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

“We are excited to announce that we had 16 Olathe Public Schools seniors given a very prestigious honor by being named National Merit Finalists,” Superintendent Dr. Brent Yeager said. “Congratulations to these students! We are very proud of you and your accomplishments.”

In addition, about 160 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 3,800 college-sponsored merit scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

collage of National Merit Finalist photos