Return to Headlines

9-22-20 — National Merit Semifinalists Named

Sept. 22, 2020 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 15 National Merit Semifinalists.

The semifinalists from the district are:

  • Olathe East High School: Andrea Shehi and Megan Li.
  • Olathe North High School: Wade Boohar, Michelle Chen, Arjun Garapaty, Khushi Kohli, Caleb Lim, Samuel Liu and Trisha Nair.
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Quintin McCoach, Shane McIntosh, William Morris, Alexander Pauli, Tanya Qin and Dawson Wright.

From the approximate 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2021. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be provided by about 220 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,100 college-sponsored merit scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.