Return to Headlines

2-19-19 — National Merit Scholarship Finalists Announced

Feb. 19, 2019 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the finalists in the 64th National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 11 finalists. They are:

  • Olathe East High School: Robert Kullberg and Bryan Kwon;
  • Olathe North High School: Brian Beach, Anchal Gupta, Harvin Sangha and Vanya Shivashankar;
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Ethan Grantz and Gracey Hiebert;
  • Olathe South High School: Logan George, Griffin Minter and Christian Petersen

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The semifinalist must then submit a scholarship application, which includes the student’s essay and information about the semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities.