Return to Headlines

2-5-19 — Early February 2019 Awards

Feb. 5, 2019

Olathe North Students Named KC Scholars

A total of 18 Olathe North High School students were named KC Scholars for traditional students. This program annually awards 250 traditional students scholarships for up to $10,000 a year, for up to five years. Eleven students were named as traditional scholarship winners and seven were named for specific universities.

Traditional scholarship winners are Alla-Amin Abdullahi, Fernando Chagoya-Martinez, Nicholas Gerhold, Carter Hicks, Sireen Kenana, Sofia Martinez Manuel, Mikaela Rosse Navarro, Zashary Ramos-Sandoval, Naima Warsame, Katy Wright and Agel Yor.

Students receiving KC Scholars scholarships to the University of Missouri-Columbia (MU) are Avneet Bhullar, Jessica Delgadillo, Jared Henderson, Ngan Ngo, Dianna Pina, Juana Torres-Cruz and Tsega Wolde.

Elementary Math Wings Winners Named

The 2019 Olathe Elementary Math Wings competition took place in January and crowned winners of the fourth- and fifth-grade division.

The fourth-grade division was won by the Cedar Creek and Regency Place elementary teams. Cedar Creek team members Bryce Bogert, Samantha Lybarger and Keaden Yim were coached by Casie Olderding. Regency Place team members Mahi Kohli, Anjali Krishnakumar and Riya Mazumdar were coached by Katie Auld and Staci Andersen.

The fifth-grade division was won by Regency Place Elementary. Team members Nicholas Hammond, Jack Kennedy and Grady Waddell were coached by Katie Auld and Staci Andersen.

Olathe Math Wings is an after-school math club that provides an additional learning opportunity for students and is open to all students in the fourth and fifth grades.

Female Students Earn Awards for Aspirations in Computing

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT), NetApp of Wichita and Northwest Missouri State University will recognize two Olathe students at an upcoming award ceremony and reception for their accomplishments and aspirations in computing and technology.

Riley Delancy, senior at Olathe East High School, named Honorable Mention recipient and Emily Hemsath, senior at Olathe Northwest High School, named Rising Star recipient will be honored Feb. 8, during the reception held at the Kauffman Conference Center.

Olathe Dance Teams Win Championships

In February, two Olathe high school dance teams attended the Dance Team Union Nationals in Orlando, Florida, and left national champions.

The Olathe East High School Talons dance team earned the Junior Varsity Pom National Champions title.

The Olathe North High School Eaglettes dance team earned the Large Varsity Pom National Champions title. This is the third consecutive national title for the dance team.