Return to Headlines

9-19-22 — 16 Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Sept. 19, 2022 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 16 seniors named National Merit Semifinalists.

The semifinalists from the district are:

  • Olathe East: Nathan Zhang and Easton Logback
  • Olathe North: Ethan Bui, Matthew Coffman, Isobel Li, Eve Loehrer, Meirah Paul, Jackson Stephens and Joseph Wiltanger
  • Olathe Northwest: William Bergman, Alana Schmalzried-Lugo, Grant Shanklin, Samuel Swails, Amy Van Oosbree and Hope Wagner
  • Olathe West: Carson Guenthner

From the approximate 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2023. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 950 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be provided by about 180 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

In addition, about 160 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 3,800 college-sponsored merit scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.