Return to Headlines

5-20-19 — Four Alums, Longtime Superintendent Join Wall of Honor

May 20, 2019 ~ The Olathe Public Schools Alumni Association will recognize four exceptional alumni and one Distinguished Person of Honor during its Wall of Honor banquet on Wednesday, Oct. 2, at the Ball Conference Center, 21350 W. 153rd St., Olathe.
This year's honorees are: 

  • Michael Boehm, a 1978 graduate of Olathe High School, who has served this community both civically and professionally and is now mayor of Lenexa.
  • Melissa Harness Flores, a 1998 graduate of Olathe North High School, who served in the Navy and works as a safety engineer for NASA.
  • Kim Bowen Harbur, a 1975 graduate of Olathe High School, who was a business owner before starting a network to promote organ donation.
  • Sam Perkins, a 1949 graduate of John P. St. John Memorial High School, who made a career in the banking community, served on several boards of directors, and is a philanthropist.

alumni association logo with high school mascots Former superintendent Ron Wimmer is this year's Distinguished Person of Honor. Started in 2012, the Distinguished Person of Honor Award recognizes individuals who did not graduate from the district but provided exceptional support to the Olathe district for many years. 
The dinner honoring these notable individuals will begin at 6 p.m. (socializing and seating at 5:30 p.m.). Tickets are $45 per person. Event and table sponsorships are also available. Call 913-780-8182 for tickets or sponsorship information.
The Olathe Board of Education will recognize this year’s honorees during the board’s Oct. 3 meeting at the Education Center, 14160 S. Black Bob Road, Olathe. View the Wall of Honor website to see photos and biographies of previous honorees.