Return to Headlines

4-23-19 — Late April 2019 Awards

April 23, 2019

Olathe West Teacher Receives Grant

Olathe West High School science teacher Kelly Kluthe was awarded a $2,000 classroom grant by the Kansas City Chapter of the Association for Learning Environments. Four Innovation in Learning Environment grants are awarded annually.

“We are extremely proud of Kelly and the grant that she put together: Honeybees for High School,” Olathe West Principal Jay Novacek said. “Kelly works very hard to be an innovative and forward driving science instructor. We are excited for this great new opportunity for our students and also want to thank the Kansas City Chapter of the Association for Learning Environments for this great honor. We are excited to see what all the buzz is about with honeybees at Olathe West.”

Students Place in Regional Science Fair

In early April, 62 Olathe students competed and accounted for nearly 20 awards and certificates of achievement at the Greater Kansas City Science and Engineering Fair held at Union Station. Over 1,000 students competed at the fair representing 91 schools across 21 school districts.

Eddie Dai, Olathe North High School junior, received one of three Grand Awards which were presented to the top three high school projects that meet the stringent requirements for entering the INTEL International Science and Engineering Fair. Dai will receive an all-expense paid trip to compete at the 2019 International Fair held in Phoenix, Arizona, in May.

Musician Selected to Prestigious National Program

Carnegie Hall announced the names of the 22 young musicians from across the country participating in the National Youth Orchestra (NYO) Jazz program, a four-week intensive summer program designed to nurture and showcase the talents of exceptional young American jazz instrumentalists ages 16-19.

Olathe East High School senior Evan Kappelman was selected for tenor saxophone.

“Evan has worked so hard for everything he has accomplished,” Olathe East Principal Kerry Lane said. “He is genuine, kind and an outstanding musician. I know he appreciates the support of his terrific family and teachers as he continues to grow and learn.”

The musicians of NYO Jazz will travel to New York in mid-July for a two-week training residency and will perform at Carnegie Hall Saturday, July 27, preceeding a two-week tour to Asia.

Central Elementary Earns State Award

The Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE), in partnership with and Smoky Hill Education Service Center, recognized Central Elementary with a Shifting School Culture Recognition.

“The way we start our day with connection and calm has created an environment that is conducive for allowing students the time they need to become ready to learn,” Central Principal Dana Hinds said. “Our building culture is one of family and connectedness. We are so pleased that our students and staff are benefiting from the way we start our day at Central.”

The Kansas Schools of Character Award program recipients are schools and/or districts that have worked to enhance social, emotional and character development. They have demonstrated education principles that include creating a caring school community, engaging families and community members as partners in character-building efforts, fostering self-motivation, and implementing meaningful and challenging academic curriculum that respects all learners, develops character and helps students succeed.

Six Olathe Schools Receive Challenge Awards

The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force has named 185 schools in 98 Kansas public school districts, including Olathe Public Schools, as recipients of the 2018 Challenge Awards.

The awards recognize Kansas schools that are making a notable difference in student achievement despite facing significant challenges in their school population. Nearly 1,700 awards have been presented since 2002.

Six Olathe Public Schools were named 2018 Challenge Award recipients: Central Elementary, Fairview Elementary, Ridgeview Elementary, Washington Elementary, Westview Elementary and Indian Trail Middle School.

Members of the Task Force include American Association of University Women; Kansas PTA; Kansas Association of School Boards; Kansas National Education Association; Kansas State Board of Education; Kansas State High School Activities Association; Kansas Partners in Education; League of Women Voters – Kansas; and United School Administrators of Kansas.

Educator Receives KNEA Recognition

Woodland Elementary center-based resource teacher Jamie Van Scyoc was recently awarded a Read to Achieve award from the Kansas chapter of the National Education Association (KNEA) and KCTV5. As part of this award, Van Scyoc received a check for $1,000.

“Jamie extends her teaching gifts and talents to every student she encounters throughout the school day,” Woodland Principal Stacy Shipley said. “She invests her time in developing plans to help students be successful. When you watch Jamie teach, you quickly recognize the magic that happens with learning as she makes the instructional decisions that help students succeed.”

Students Named CTE Scholars

Ten Olathe high school students have been named 2019 Kansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Scholars by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE). There are 39 students across Kansas who receive this honor.

Matrim Besch, Olathe South High School; Zachary Craig, Olathe South; Nathan Correa, Olathe South; Riley Delancy, Olathe East High School; Logan George, Olathe South; Adrian Vilches-Gomez, Olathe North High School; Kreg Herman, Olathe Norhtwest High School; Joshua Musick, Olathe East; Emma Smither, Olathe Northwest; and Jasmine Spears, Olathe North were named Kansas CTE Scholars.

The Kansas CTE Scholar Program recognizes well-rounded, outstanding CTE students who are finishing their senior year of high school and meet the criteria provided by the KSDE. This is the third year of the initiative.

Counselors Earn District Awards

The Counseling Department of Olathe Public Schools named its winners of the Olathe School Counselor of the Year awards.

Tisha Halfert, Green Springs Elementary counselor, earned the Olathe School Counselor of the Year award; Mitchell Cloud, Fairview Elementary counselor, earned the Olathe Counselor Promise award; Jaime Englis, Summit Trail Middle School counselor, earned the Olathe Secondary Counselor of the Year award; Todd Wheat, Green Springs principal, earned the Olathe School Counselor Principal Advocate award; and Cindy Hey, Prairie Trail Middle School counselor, earned the Olathe Counselor Hall of Fame award.

Winners will advance to the state level for consideration in the Kansas School Counseling Association Awards.