Return to Headlines

2-25-20 — National Merit Scholarship Finalists Announced

Feb. 25, 2020 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of the finalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. All 15 of the Olathe School District’s semifinalists advanced to become finalists. They are:

  • Olathe East High School: Sierra Smith and Anna Stovall.
  • Olathe North High School: Eddie Dai, Nicole Manny, Mahathi Muralidharan, Ruby Onsongo, Naima Patel, Chinmay Patil, Lincoln Schick and Kylie Volavongsa.
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Zoe Kulphongpatana, Renee Oswalt, Nicholas Saia and Kaiya Scott.
  • Olathe West High School: Eleanor Wiltanger.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The semifinalist must then submit a scholarship application, which includes the student’s essay and information about the semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities.