Return to Headlines

10-14-19 — Mid October 2019 Awards

Oct. 14, 2019

Olathe Student Selected to Perform in National Band

Olathe South High School senior Bryan Johnson has been selected to perform in the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) All-National Honor Ensembles Concert Band.

“I am extremely proud of Brian’s selection to the NAfME All-National Honor Band, both in his individual achievement and his representing Olathe South and our school district in such a prestigious group,” Olathe South Director of Bands Chad Coughlin said. “Brian has achieved this honor and recognition through a combination of musical talent and a dedication to practicing to maximize his ability. This is Olathe South’s second band student selected in the last three years, so I hope our other students are inspired by the example of excellence and work ethic that has been modeled by students like Bryan.”

The ensemble will perform during the NAfME national conference in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 7-10. To have been considered for the ensemble, students must have been selected for their all-state ensemble.

Olathe Educators Receive Honors

At the 2019 Olathe Human Relations Commission Awards, two Olathe educators received honors for their work in the classroom and community.

Olathe North High School history teacher Phillip Simons received the 2019 Educator Award. Olathe Northwest High School English teacher Angie Powers received the 2019 Humanitarian Award.

The awards are designated to celebrate business, civic organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to enhance human rights, equality, cultural diversity and the pursuit of disability inclusiveness.

Elementary Math Wings Winners Named

The Olathe Elementary Math Wings competition took place recently and crowned winners in the fourth- and fifth-grade divisions.

Regency Place Elementary won the fourth-grade division. Team members Ross McDowell, Nick VanHoose and Isaac Wong were coached by Staci Andersen and Kelly Seward.


Bentwood Elementary won the fifth-grade division. Team members Brody Flora, Aadhira Prasad and Chloe Zhang were coached by Rebecca Forman.