Return to Headlines

9-12-18 — District Announces National Merit Semifinalists

Sept. 12, 2018 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 12 National Merit Semifinalists.

The semifinalists from the district are:

  • Olathe East High School: Robert Kullberg and Bryan Kwon.
  • Olathe North High School: Brian Beach, Anchal Gupta, Harvin Sangha and Vanya Shivashankar.
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Ethan Grantz, Gracey Hiebert and Matthew Paulson.
  • Olathe South High School: Logan George, Griffin Minter and Christian Petersen.

From the approximate 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2019. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be provided by about 230 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored merit scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.