Return to Headlines

7-11-18 — Mid-July 2018 Awards

July 11, 2018

Olathe Public Schools Receives Grant from Hispanic Development Fund

For the fourth consecutive year, Olathe Public Schools and its English Language Learners (ELL) will be the beneficiary of a grant from the Hispanic Development Fund. This $10,000 will provide and promote college readiness programming, a Hispanic Family College Fair, mentorship program and tutoring for ELL students.

“This grant from the Hispanic Development Fund of Kansas City will allow us to provide exciting programming for our students,” Olathe Public Schools Director of Instructional Support Programs Jan Heinen said. “We have many activities designed to support academic performance, graduation rate, career exploration and preparation, and protective factors for the success and well-being of our students. We are very grateful to the Hispanic Development Fund for their fourth year of support for our programs.”

Staff Members Selected to National Fellowship

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and the American Institute of Physics (AIP) announced members of the 2018-19 AAPT/AIP Master Teacher Policy Fellowship class. This group includes two educators from Olathe Public Schools.

Matthew Peterie, Engineering Academy facilitator at Olathe Northwest High School, and Andrew Edmondson, science teacher at Olathe Northwest High School, both were selected to the fellowship which brings together K-12 physics and physical science teachers from across the United States.

“As a district, we are extremely proud of both Matt and Andrew for being selected to be part of this fellowship,” Olathe Public Schools Assistant Superintendent for Learning Services Brent Yeager said. “Their participation will have a positive impact on students in Olathe and will likely give both teachers the platform to share their talent with other educators.”

Staff Member Selected to National STEM Education Advisory Panel

Bruce Wellman, chemistry and engineering teacher at Olathe Northwest High School, was selected to be a member of the STEM Education Advisory Panel. This inaugural panel’s oversight is provided by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in consultation with the United States Department of Education, NASA, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

“I am extremely honored and excited to serve as an inaugural member of this noteworthy federal STEM education advisory committee,” Wellman said. “I’m a fervent advocate for classroom teachers to have a strong voice in education policy at all levels so we can implement better allocations of public funds and resources to ensure meaningful improvements in student learning and ultimately secure our country’s competitiveness in the global economy.”

The advisory panel will meet twice annually at the NSF headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia.

Recent Graduates Receive Governor’s Community Service Award

Sara Stroup, 2018 graduate of Olathe Northwest High School, and Marissa Lux, 2018 graduate of Olathe North High School, were selected to receive the Governor’s Community Service Award for their commitment in giving back to their communities.

Winners of this award were selected by displaying a commitment to serving their community, volunteering to help those in need at a nonprofit community organization, faith-based organization, business, school or national service program and consistently placing the needs of others above their own.

Olathe North Thespians Showcased at International Festival

Recently 20 students representing Thespian Troupe 3310 from Olathe North High School participated in the International Thespian Festival in Lincoln, Nebraska. This festival is attended by over 4,000 thespians from around the world.

Emily Martin, senior at Olathe North, was elected to serve as an International Thespian Officer. Martin is one of six students who will represent the International Thespian Society for the upcoming school year.

Nine students who earned Superior scores at the Kansas Festival were able to perform at the international festival. Five of these students received Superior scores: Alex Edmonds, 2018 Olathe North graduate; Katelyn Gillette, Olathe North junior; David Genis and Jackson Wilks, 2018 Olathe North graduate; and Emily Martin.