Return to Headlines

6-13-18 — Three Alums, Two Distinguished Persons to be Honored

June 13, 2018 ~ The Olathe Public Schools Alumni Association will recognize three exceptional alumni and two Distinguished Persons of Honor during its Wall of Honor banquet on Wednesday, Oct. 3, at the Ball Conference Center, 21350 W. 153rd St., Olathe.
Olathe Public Schools Alumni Association logo This year's honorees are: 

  • Carlotta Dorst Belcher, a 1952 graduate of John P. St. John Memorial High School, who has dedicated her life to volunteering throughout Olathe.
  • LeRoy O. Homan, a 1955 graduate of John P. St. John Memorial High School, whose service to this country included the Marine Corps and a career in the Central Intelligence Agency.
  • Ken Roberts, a 1963 graduate of Olathe High School, who embarked on a career in education including teacher and principal, and volunteers with such organizations as Johnson County Old Settlers and the alumni association.

Former superintendent Patricia All and Olathe historian Bob Courtney, also a longtime district employee, were selected as this year's Distinguished Persons of Honor. Started in 2012, the Distinguished Person of Honor Award recognizes individuals who did not graduate from the district but provided exceptional support to the Olathe district for many years. 
The dinner honoring these notable individuals will begin at 6 p.m. (socializing and seating at 5:30 p.m.). Tickets are $45 per person. Event and table sponsorships are also available. Call (913) 780-8182 for tickets or sponsorship information.
The 2018 Wall of Honor inductees will be recognized by the Board of Education during its Oct. 4 meeting at the Education Center, 14160 S. Black Bob Road, Olathe. Photos and biographies of previous honorees are available on the Wall of Honor.