Return to Headlines

4-23-18 — Late April 2018 Awards

April 23, 2018

Olathe Students Place in Regional Science Fair

In early April, 26 Olathe students from Chisholm Trail Middle School and the Distinguished Scholars and Geoscience academies, both located at Olathe North High School, competed and accounted for nearly 40 awards and certificates of achievement at the Kansas City Regional Science Fair located at Union Station.

Alexandria Stephenson, Olathe North High School senior, received one of three Grand Awards which were presented to the top three senior projects that meet the stringent requirements for entering the INTEL International Science and Engineering Fair. Stephenson will receive an all-expense paid trip to compete at the 2018 International Fair held in Pittsburgh, Pennslyvania in May.

Additionally eight students received first place in the senior division (grades 9-12) competition. Malek Ellouz earned first place in the Senior Animal Science category, Claire Fuhlhage earned first place in the Senior Chemistry category, Shulammite Lim earned first place in the Senior Computational Science, Bioinformatics and Mathematics category, Ellie Miller earned first place in the Senior Earth and Environmental Science category, Ellie Green earned first place in the Senior Energy and Environmental Engineering category, Cheyenne Loo earned first place in the Senior Microbiology category, Alexandria Stephenson earned first place in the Senior Physics and Astronomy category and Kaneikawaiola Porter received first palce in the Senior Plant Science category.

Tara Wolfe, sixth-grade student at Chisholm Trail Middle School, earned first place in the Intermediate Molecular Bio/Chem and Health Sciences category.

Olathe Students Named CTE Scholars

Eight Olathe high school students have been named 2018 Kansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Scholars by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE).

Matthew Boehm, Olathe Advanced Technical Center; Liam Delancy, Olathe Advanced Technical Center; Collin Wall, Olathe Advanced Technical Center; Wesley Cavanaugh, Olathe East High School; Nolan Dean, Olathe East High School; Alexander Ge, Olathe East High School; Zachary Peterson, Olathe East High School; and Ethan Weeks, Olathe Northwest High School were named Kansas CTE scholars.

The Kansas CTE Scholar Program recognizes well-rounded, outstanding CTE students who are finishing their senior year of high school and meet the criteria provided by the KSDE. This is the second year for the initiative.

Elementary Math Wings Winners Named

The final 2017-18 Olathe Elementary Math Wings competition took place in April and crowned co-winners in both the fourth- and fifth-grade division.

The fourth-grade division was a tie between the Cedar Creek and Regency Place elementary teams. Cedar Creek team members Carter Poplin, Drake Heimsoth and Caleb Flatland were coached by Casie Olberding. Regency Place team members Grady Waddell, Jack Kennedy and Nicholas Hammond were coached by Staci Anderson and Katy Auld.

The fifth-grade division was a tie between the Walnut Grove and Prairie Center elementary teams. Walnut Grove team members Jakob Gilbo, Dylan Gilbo and Bret Keech were coached by Riley Taylor. Prairie Center team members Abigail McCulloch, Hannah Cleveland and Alex Robinson were coached by Jill DeGroot and Pamela Griffing.

Olathe Math Wings is an after-school math club that provides an additional learning opportunity for students and is open to all students in the fourth and fifth grades.

Olathe North Mock Trial Team Named State Champions

The Olathe North High School Mock Trial team was named the 2018 Kansas state champion and has earned the right to compete at the National Mock Trial Championship. The competition will be held mid-May in Reno, Nevada.

Team members Reem Atallah, Alexa Edmonds, Lauren Ellenz, Anchal Gupta, Kirsten Osei-Bonsu, Alyson Shirley and Vanya Shivashankar defeated Shawnee Mission Northwest’s team by four points to secure the title.

“The students spent weeks preparing for competition and their hard work has paid off,” Olathe North Debate and Forensics coach Richard Belske said. “They are the first Kansas City-area team to qualify for the national competition in nearly a decade and they are the only Olathe school in history to qualify.”

Mock Trial is a speaking competition that is modeled after a courtroom trial. Each year the Kansas Bar Association releases a case that is based on a trial that occurred and students become familiar with the case materials and courtroom procedure.