Return to Headlines

3-13-18 — Mid-March 2018 Awards

March 13, 2018

Elementary Math Wings Winners Named

The 2018 Olathe Elementary Math Wings competition took place in February and crowned winners of the fourth- and fifth-grade division.

The fourth-grade division was won by Heatherstone Elementary. Team members Wyatt Pence and Joseph Patnode were coached by Keri Gruber and Leslie Beller.

The fifth-grade division was won by Arbor Creek Elementary. Team members Hannah Mueller, Lily Unruh and Brady Collar were coached by Bryon Autrey.

Olathe Math Wings is an after-school math club that provides an additional learning opportunity for students and is open to all students in the fourth and fifth grades.

Educator Earns Community Champion Award

Lindsay Sutter, center based resource teacher at Chisholm Trail Middle School, recently earned a Community Champion Award given by the Down Syndrome Guild of Greater Kansas City. Sutter was nominated by the family of one of her students.

“Lindsay is an incredible educator,” Chisholm Trail Principal Michael Wolgast said. “She finds ways to meet the students at their level, while challenging them to improve and grow each day. She not only has a positive relationship with her students and colleagues, but the trust and respect of the parents whose children she serves.”

Olathe Principal Named to State Board of Directors

Clint Albers, Olathe South High School principal, was recently appointed to a two-year term as the large school representative to the Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals (KASSP) Board of Directors.

“I’m honored to have been selected to serve on the board of directors for the KASSP,” said Albers. “I look forward to working with the other members of the board of directors in providing valuable information, training, and resources to principals throughout the state that will ultimately impact and improve learning for the students of Kansas.”

“We are excited for Mr. Albers being named to the KASSP Board of Directors,” Executive Director of General Administration/Secondary Programs Jim McMullen said. “Mr. Albers has shown exceptional leadership as the principal of Olathe South High School. His experience from serving as a high school administrator in both Olathe and Hays gives him a unique perspective of high schools in Kansas.”

Olathe Students Earn Honors at State Competition

Recently at the Kansas ProStart Invitational competition, Olathe culinary students placed first in four categories.

Students on the first place Culinary team were Brooke Lape, Riley Flood, Kaleigh Ousley, Nick Parks and Cooper Patterson.

Students on the first place Management team were Hayley Green, Emma Groves, Austin Schwarz, Milenia Mbai and Keely Huff.

Kadin Dulgarian received first place in Edible Centerpiece and Riley Flood received first place in the Best Knife Cut competition.

“I am so proud of the teamwork, hard work, dedication and passion that these students provide every day with their coursework and special events,” Olathe Advanced Technical Center Administrator Amy Stolz said. “The students had a dream and it is now a reality and are headed to the ProStart Nationals in Providence, Rhode Island.”