Return to Headlines

3-9-18 — National Merit Scholarship Finalists Announced

March 9, 2018 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the finalists in the 63rd National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 19 finalists. They are:

  • Olathe East High School: Negin Amouei, Jack Donley, Sameena Hameed, Dominique Jaramillo, Timothy Schmidt and Jacob Wilson;
  • Olathe North High School: Shulammite Lim, Cheyenne Loo and Magda Werkmeister;
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Andrew Booze, Kenton Huff, Kristoffer Lauridsen, Selina Noor, Stephen Schuler and Krisdapa Sirasudhi;
  • Olathe South High School: Hanna Carney, Natalie Roberts, Alexius Schmidt and Kylee Wallentine

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The semifinalist must then submit a scholarship application, which includes the student’s essay and information about the semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities.